Rescuing not Talking

Help us get the Sea-Watch 3 into operation

Financed: 61.4%

of 400.000,- €

It may take a few days before the latest donations are displayed.

Donate now

Account Holder: Sea-Watch e.V.
IBAN: DE77100205000002022288
BIC: BFSWDE33BER
Bank: Bank für Sozialwirtschaft Berlin

The Sea-Watch 3

With a larger and more suitable ship we can take on the European policy of isolation and the ongoing dying in the Mediterranean! Help us get the Sea-Watch into operation to help people in need more reliably and appropriately.

The Sea-Watch 3 has already been active as a rescue ship for an other humanitarian organisation and is perfectly equipped and tested for our mission.

Delegates of parties and institutions of the European Union have been trying for months to hinder the life-saving work of civil rescue ships, be it through defamatory statements, pulling back from the rescue zone or the new, highly dubious ‚Code of Conduct‘. Yet what are needed in view of the 2,000 deaths this year are not more rules but more rescue capacities! „In the last few weeks and months, we have had to overload our ships again and again and hope that support will come. The crew and those rescued often reached the limits of their resilience,” reports our logistics officer Welf Seyer. In the last mission around 500 people had to be taken on board the 33m-long Sea-Watch 2. Mission leader Reinier Boerde says: “We were faced with the decision: do we overload our ship and take the people on board, or do we let them drown before our eyes. In the long run, this state of affairs cannot continue.” In order not to put the safety of our crew and those we save at risk, we therefore decided to bring another, significantly larger rescue ship into operation. With a length of 50m and a higher level of reliability, the Sea-Watch 3 offers a guarantee that we can help faster, more safely and more efficiently when shipwrecks happen. Above all, we will be able to take care of significantly more people in an appropriate manner. Since politicians have so far been unable to find a humanitarian solution for the increasingly precarious situation in the Mediterranean, it falls to us to end the dying. We can only do this with your support. Please help us with the financing and startup operations of the Sea-Watch 3! As long as the European Union refuses to support maritime rescue, the only alternative remains to increase rescue and transport capacities in order to ensure safety and protection for more people.

In total, we need 400,000 euros to finance the mission of Sea-Watch 3, for example:

  • 5 € Cover the rations for one person on board per day
  • 15 € Medical treatment of burns and chemical burns per person
  • 50 € Lifejackets for 50 people
  • 100 € Medical treatment for a severely dehydrated person
  • 150 € Medical treatment for a severely dehydrated toddler
  • 300 € Rescue float for an emergency maritime rescue for 20 people
  • 500 € Life raft for an emergency maritime rescue for 60 people
  • 1.000 € Rations for our crew on board per mission
  • 5.000 € Fuel for the ship and the speedboats per mission
  • 50.000 € Purchase of a speedboat
  • 100.000 € Entire running costs of the Sea-Watch 3 per month

„Sea-Watch is currently the only NGO active in the Mediterranean which can supply these urgently needed reinforcements. The running costs of the Sea-Watch 3 are immense and currently not yet covered, but we nevertheless believe that the purchase of a ship is an important step in these times – and the right step.”

Sandra Hammamy – Board member of Sea-Watch e.V.

„We are currently experiencing a significant aggravation of the humanitarian crisis in the Mediterranean. Resources for rescue are being refused and rescue personnel are being hindered. Therefore, it’s time to go on the offensive.”

Axel Grafmanns – CEO Sea-Watch e.V.

Help us to end the dying in the Mediterranean and put up solid resistance to the European policy of isolation: 670 tons of steel and a crew who won’t be kept down easily.

Vorschaubild

Retten statt Reden

Hilf mit die Sea-Watch 3 in den Einsatz zu bringen

Finanziert: 61.4%

von 400.000,- €

Es kann einige Tage dauern, bis der aktuellste Spendenstand angezeigt wird.

Jetzt Spenden

Direktspende

Bei der Meldung “Formular abgelaufen” – Hier klicken.

SPENDENKONTO:
IBAN: DE77 1002 0500 0002 0222 88
BIC: BFSWDE33BER
Kreditinstitut: Bank für Sozialwirtschaft Berlin
Kontoinhaber: Sea-Watch e.V.

Die Sea-Watch 3

Mit einem größeren und anpassungsfähigeren Schiff gegen die europäische Abschottungspolitik und das anhaltende Sterben im Mittelmeer! Helft uns, die Sea-Watch 3 in den Einsatz zu bringen, um den Menschen in Not zuverlässiger und angemessener zu helfen.

Die Sea-Watch 3 war bereits als Rettungsschiff für eine andere Organisation im Einsatz und ist für unsere Mission optimal ausgestattet und erprobt.

Vertreter*innen politischer Parteien und Institutionen innerhalb der Europäischen Union versuchen seit Monaten, die lebensrettende Arbeit der zivilen Rettungsschiffe zu behindern. Beispiele hierfür sind diffamierende Aussagen gegenüber NGOs, das Zurückziehen staatlicher Schiffe aus der Rettungszone oder der recht fragwürdige Verhaltenskodex. Doch was im Angesicht von erneut über 2000 Toten in diesem Jahr gebraucht wird, sind nicht mehr Regeln, sondern mehr Rettungskräfte! „In den letzten Wochen und Monaten mussten wir unsere Schiffe immer wieder überladen und hoffen, dass Unterstützung kommt. Crew und Gerettete kamen dabei oft an die Grenze ihrer Belastbarkeit“, berichtet unser Logistiker Welf Seyer. Im letzten Einsatz mussten rund 500 Menschen an Bord der 33m langen Sea- Watch 2 aufgenommen werden. Einsatzleiter Reinier Boere sagt hierzu: „Wir standen vor der Entscheidung: Überladen wir unser Schiff und nehmen die Menschen an Bord, oder lassen wir sie vor unseren Augen ertrinken. Das ist auf Dauer kein Zustand.“ Um die Sicherheit unserer Crew und der Geretteten nicht weiter zu gefährden, haben wir uns daher entschieden, ein weiteres, deutlich größeres und flexibleres Rettungsschiff in den Einsatz zu bringen. Die Sea-Watch 3 bietet mit 50m Länge und einer höheren Ausfallsicherheit die Garantie, bei Bootsunglücken schneller, sicherer und effizienter zu helfen. Vor allem aber können wir so deutlich mehr Menschen angemessen versorgen. Da die Politik keine humanitäre Lösung für die immer prekärere Situation auf dem Mittelmeer findet, liegt es weiterhin an uns, das Sterben auf dem Mittelmeer zu beenden. Das können wir nur mit Eurer Unterstützung. Helft uns bei der Finanzierung und Inbetriebnahme der Sea-Watch 3! Solange die Europäische Union die Unterstützung bei der Seenotrettung verweigert, bleibt die einzige Alternative, selbst die Rettungs- und Transportkapazitäten zu erhöhen, um mehr Menschen Sicherheit und Schutz zu gewähren.

Insgesamt benötigen wir 400.000 € um die Mission der Sea-Watch 3 zu finanzieren, zum Beispiel für:

  • 5 € Verpflegung einer Person an Bord pro Tag
  • 15 € Medizinische Behandlung von Verbrennungen und Verätzungen
  • 50 € Ausstattung von 50 Personen mit Rettungsdecken
  • 100 € Medizinische Behandlung einer stark dehydrierten Person
  • 150 € Medizinische Behandlung eines stark dehydrierten Kleinkindes
  • 300 € Rettungsschlauch, zur akuten Seenotrettung von 20 Personen
  • 500 € Rettungsinsel, zur akuten Seenotrettung von 60 Personen
  • 1.000 € Verpflegung unserer Crew pro Mission
  • 5.000 € Treibstoff des Schiffes und der Schnellboote pro Mission
  • 50.000 € Anschaffung eines Schnellbootes
  • 100.000 € Gesamtbetrieb der Sea-Watch 3 pro Monat

„Sea-Watch ist derzeit die einzige auf dem Mittelmeer aktive NGO, die die dringend nötige Verstärkung stemmen kann. Die Betriebskosten der Sea-Watch 3 sind immens und derzeit noch nicht gedeckt, wir glauben dennoch dass der Kauf des Schiffes in diesen Zeiten ein richtiger und wichtiger Schritt ist.“

Sandra Hammamy – Vorstand Sea-Watch e.V.

„Wir erleben derzeit eine deutliche Zuspitzung der humanitären Krise auf dem Mittelmeer. Rettungsressourcen werden verweigert, Rettungskräfte behindert. Daher ist es an der Zeit in die Offensive zu gehen.“

Axel Grafmanns – CEO Sea-Watch e.V.

Helft uns, das Sterben auf dem Mittelmeer zu beenden und der europäischen Abschottungspolitik etwas entgegen setzen: 670 Tonnen Stahl und eine Crew, die sich nicht so leicht unterkriegen lässt.